This means that if you get sick from Corona Virus, the law supports getting workers compensation benefits.
We can help you understand the new law and get benefits under the Workers’ Compensation system.
On May 6, 2020, California Gov. Newsom signed an Order (EO N-62-20), creating a rebuttable presumption, for purposes of receiving workers’ compensation benefits, that employees who test positive for or are diagnosed with COVID-19 contracted the virus while at work. This is a major change in the law and will help people get compensated if they get sick.
Under EO N-62-20, if an employee is positive for or is diagnosed with COVID-19 within 14 days after performing work at the employer’s workplace at the employer’s instruction, there is a rebuttable presumption that the COVID-19-related illness was caused by the job, and WC benefits kick in. This presumption entitles employees to medical treatment, temporary and possibly permanent disability money. Even without the presumption, if someone gets sick or tests positive for the virus, they should contact a lawyer to determine if they are eligible for workers’ comp benefits.
The Order covers employees whose date of injury is within 60 days of the issuance of the executive order, meaning on or before July 5, 2020. As many California businesses reopen and shelter-in-place restrictions go away, employers will nonetheless be presumptively liable for any COVID-19 infections of their workers, despite any other factors that may make it difficult to prove the connection with work.
If you or someone you know has been affected, we can help you understand the new law and get benefits under the Workers’ Compensation system. Please contact 714-558-9729 for more information.